John Delahunt presented with the Ibbertson Award at 2016 Clinical Meeting

The Kaye Ibbertson Clinical Endocrinology Award, which recognises an outstanding clinical career in the field of Endocrinology in NZ, was awarded to Dr John Delahunt at the 2016 clinical meeting in Nelson this August.

John graduated from Otago Medical School in 1966 and has been a clinical endocrinologist at Wellington Hospital since 1978. He has been a Senior Lecturer at the Wellington School of Medicine for many years, and has trained and mentored many undergraduates and postgraduates. John has been a very active member of the NZSE, having been the treasurer on 2 occasions, a previous secretary and the NZSE representative on the Royal Australasian College of Physicians Adult Medicine Advisory Panel in the 1980s and from 2008-2012. He was awarded life membership of the NZSE in 2012.

Photo: John Delahunt receiving the Kaye Ibbertson Award, with Dr Stella Milsom and Prof Ian Holdaway.